The Sakharov Prize
for Freedom of Thought

Since 1988, the European Parliament has awarded the annual Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought in order to honor individuals or organizations for their efforts "on behalf of human rights and fundamental freedoms and against oppression and injustice." Here are a few of the recipients. For a complete list:

(BetterWorld Heroes is not associated with The Sakharov Prize or the European Parliament - BetterWorld Hero portraits are provided for illustration purposes only - no endorsement is implied)

© The EMILY Fund. May be distributed for non-commercial uses only.
BetterWorld Heroes are included for illustration purposes. No endorsement implied.


A | B| C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P| Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | Y | Z
Complete List
- Now 1000 Heroes!
By Category



Kids | Youth | Adults | Calendar | Quotes | Heroes | Stories | The EMILY Fund | Scholarships
DO ONE THING and BetterWorld Kids Clubs are projects of The EMILY Fund (The Emily Silverstein Fund, Inc.)
Hero portraits are included for illustration purposes only - no celebrity endorsement implied

The Emily Fund
Education, Mentorship, Inspiration, Leadership, Youth
- for a Better

PO Box 430
Roosevelt, NJ 08555-0430